Ass-Kicking Workout + KickAss Cupcakes

Work hard, play hard. When we got the assignment to go review a dessert restaurant in Boston, I was beyond excited. I chose to review Kickass Cupcakes, a cupcake bakery (and food truck!) based out of Somerville, Mass. Instead of venturing out to the Somerville location, I chose to review their cupcake truck.

The truck rotates throughout the week to different Boston neighborhoods and I visited the truck this past Saturday around 11:15am (cupcakes for breakfast?) at their Clarendon Street parking location, which is open from 11am-2:45pm on Saturdays. If you’re looking for the truck, it is parked right in front of 220 Clarendon Street, between Newbury and Boylston. The fact that the truck is bright red and covered in pictures of cupcakes makes it pretty easy to spot too. Cupcakes range from $3-$6 depending on the type of cupcake, which is a totally fair price and lower than a lot of other shops. To get to this location via MBTA take the Green Line to the Copley Square stop.

I spoke with Lauren MacLean, a fifth year Northeastern Student who was in line behind me. She was picking up a few cupcakes for friends who were visiting her in the city. “Kickass are definitely my favorite brand in Boston,” she said. “My go to is red velvet every time.”

I wouldn’t exactly say that cupcakes are part of a healthy and balanced diet, however Kickass Cupcakes has a lot of really redeeming qualities that made it my first choice for a review.

  1. Not just cupcakes | Gluten free cupcakes for any Paleo dieters, fruit and yogurt and treats for your dog!
  2. Fresh baked and all natural | KAC bakes small batches every morning and uses all natural ingredients. No hydrogenated oils, trans fats, preservatives, artificial flavors or shortening.
  3. Local business | I would much rather stop by the KAC truck and support a start-up style company than go to a bigger chain like Georgetown Cupcakes.

I decided to get my workout in before my cupcake eating, so after an early-morning spin class (with a few extra sets of sprints) I was ready to try them out. I decided to go with two kinds of KAC cupcakes, the Yo Cupcake! and the Cookie Dough Cupcake.

Yo Cupcake!
I decided to go with KAC’s healthiest option, a handmade granola cup filled with fresh fruit and homemade non-fat yogurt… it was awesome. I felt like I was having a snack, not a heavy dessert. The fruit was fresh and sweet, yet the granola was still crisp. I liked that the yogurt was unflavored; it was light, tart and a perfect compliment to the sweetness of the blueberries and raspberries. My only complaint was that this was not an on-the-go cupcake. I had to sit down with a plate and a spoon to really dig into it. The presentation was great until I started eating and it began to fall apart. Overall: amazing, healthy and only $4!

Cookie Dough Cupcake
My “dessert” cupcake was a vanilla cupcake with a cookie dough center, topped with vanilla icing and a chocolate drizzle. Yes, this was amazing. Yes, I ate the entire thing. The cake tasted fresh baked and although it was vanilla, it was still bursting with flavor. The cookie dough on the inside was amazing, a very welcome surprise to a cupcake that looked pretty simple on the outside. My personal preference would have been to have chocolate icing on top, but this was absolutely delicious, and surprisingly pretty easy to eat. I did have to use a fork and knife though. Once again a great cupcake, it did leave me really full, this cupcake is not for the faint of heart. Only, $3 and a fun twist on a traditional cupcake.

Overall Kickass Cupcakes are asskickingly awesome. Go try them out at their Somerville shop or find the truck. Truck locations and times are listed on their website.

View all my photos on Flickr.

Leave a Reply

